Holyhead is a town with a rich footballing tradition, from Holyhead F.C. in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s to the glory days of the 1950’s and 1960’s when the famous Harbourmen rode high on the stage of North Wales football from their base at Cae Mwd on Turkeyshore Road. Holyhead over time has been represented by teams as diverse as Holyhead Liberals and Holyhead Locos with Mountain Rangers and Holyhead United Juniors playing in the 70’s and 80’c.

Holyhead Hotspur F.C. was founded in 1990, when several prominent people involved in local football formed the Club. At the time of its formation there were four other local Clubs in the town operating in different leagues of the North Wales Coast Football Association.

By 1997, with the success of Hotspur, all the Clubs amalgamated and Holyhead Hotspur F.C. became the modern day successor to the ‘Harbourmen’ of years ago, and formed a senior team and a reserve team and Youth teams called Holyhead Hotspur Peibio in recognition of their past association with Peibio and the great work done by many people over the years in fostering youth football at Peibio. In 2009 ‘Clwb Cybi’ a special needs team joined us and this underlined the Club’s desire to be an all inclusive football club within our community.

The Club has enjoyed much success over the years.  In successive seasons 1995/6, 1996/7, 1997/8 the Anglesey League, Gwynedd League and Welsh Alliance League Championships were won and this was the focus which resulted in the amalgamation of all the Holyhead Clubs at that time. The season 1998/9 saw the reserve team promoted to the Gwynedd League and the senior team promoted to the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance League. The Huws Gray Cymru Alliance League is North Wales and Mid Wales’s feeder league to the Welsh Premier League.

The senior side had over a period of time consolidated its position in the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance League, and the reserves have likewise done so in the Gwynedd League, culminating in both teams finishing runners – up in their respective leagues, their highest ever final league positions at the end of the 2008/2009 campaign, as well as the first team finishing as losing finalists in the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance league cup. This occurred twice in the previous three seasons, each time losing out to Bala Town in the final.

However despite a more than creditable 8th position in season 2009/10 after a very poor start, the Club was relegated to the Welsh Alliance Division 1. This was because the Welsh Premier League decided to reduce its membership for season 2010/11 from eighteen to twelve teams.

This was a great disappointment to us, and we had to strive to gain our rightful place in the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance League which is tier 2 of Welsh Football which we did as League champions in season 2011/12, also winning both the Cookson and Barritt Cup competitions and losing finalists in the Football Association of Wales Welsh Trophy competition.

For the future the Football Association of Wales requires that at some time a Reserve Team league be formed in Gwynedd, and it is our hope that this League will include WPL, CA and WA Clubs so that it is becomes a very competitive football league (comparable with the standard in the Gwynedd Football League) which will bring the best out of our young reserve players.

Honours board

Club Founded
Runners-up Megan Cup
Winners Dargie Cup
Finalists North Wales Junior Cup
Champions Anglesey League
Champions Anglesey League
Winners Dargie Cup
Winners Megan Cup
Winners Ellias Cup
Promoted to Gwynedd League
Champions Gwynedd League
Finalists Eryri Shield
Promoted to Welsh Alliance League
Champions Welsh Alliance League
Winners Alves Cup
Winners Aluminium Môn Cup
Promoted to Cymru Alliance League
Finalists NWCFA Challenge Cup
Winners Aluminium Môn Cup
Winners NWCFA Youth Cup
Finalists Eryri Shield
Runners-up Cymru Alliance League
Finalists Cymru Alliance League Cup
Finalists Cymru Alliance League Cup
Finalists Presidents Cup
Finalists Cymru Alliance League Cup
Champions Welsh Alliance League
Winners Lock Stock Cookson Cup
Winners Barritt Cup
Finalists FAW Trophy
Winners Bobby Owen Memorial Shield
Winners Meditel Gwynedd Cup

Download pen pics