News from the New Stadium

HHFCAndy Batsford and John Batson recently attended the AGM of the Welsh Alliance Reserve League on behalf of the Club.
The League reported a very successful first season although there had been some hiccups along the way.  The league ended up with twelve clubs in one league, whereas the original format had been for two leagues of eight clubs, one league in Gwynedd and one league in Clwyd with the winning and losing top and bottom  four clubs forming new leagues half way through the season.

For the forthcoming 2016/17 season the clubs have decided to form one league of fourteen clubs.
This next season will be more a challenging one as three top new North Wales clubs have been accepted into the league (Bangor City, Caernarfon Town and Prestatyn Town).

The fourteen clubs for the forthcoming season are Bangor City, Caernarfon Town, Colwyn Bay, Denbigh Town, Glan Conwy, Holyhead Hotspur, Llanberis, Llandudno Junction, Llangefni Town, Llanrug, Llanrwst, Porthmadog, Prestatyn Town and Trearddur Bay.

As this league is primarily for the Development of young players a new rule has been introduced restricting in a reserve match only three first team players who had started in the first team’s previous match.

Eight of the fourteen clubs have floodlights, so there will be quite a number of midweek matches under lights.
Ron Bridges the League secretary was thanked for his initiative in forming this reserve league and it is hoped it will move on from strength to strength.