News from the New Stadium

Changes at the top level continue at Holyhead Hotspur FC following the appointment of Darren Garmey as manager to replace Campbell Harrison with Nick Dumbarton as his assistant. The boardroom also sees a significant re shuffle of officials.

Both chairman Mike Taylor a long serving great servant of the club and vice chairman John Maguire have stood down from their positions and replaced by Ben Williams who takes the ‘hot seat’ while former manager Emlyn Manley Williams will occupy the Vice chair slot.

Debbie Jones is to take over as Treasurer from Richard Parry who continues in his long serving role as Club secretary.

The appointments were made during the recent Holyhead Hotspur FC Annual General Meeting at their club house which also saw President Councillor Mrs Beryl Warner BEM re elected as were Vice Presidents Chris Evans (Derby County) and Gordon Taylor.

A number of new committee members were added to those seeking re election. Thanks were expressed to all officers and committee who were stepping down.

The sixteen committee members elected were Mike Bailey, Andy Batsford, Geoff Capstick, Adrienne Edwards, Sian Hodgson, Dave Hughes, Hywel Hughes, Kevin Lewis, John Maguire, Chris Marshall, Mark Owen, Sheila Owen, Karen Weeks, Steve Williams, Alex Jones (Players Representative) and Barry Roberts (Supporter’s Representative). 

The reserves who will play in the Anglesey League will see Mike Kelly who has his Testimonial match at home to Sheffield United on Saturday 7th July kick off 3pm admission £3 take the helm assisted by Tom Scott, Martin Mc Clymont and John Jones. Mervyn Williams will continue as Goalkeeper coach and Tony Maguire as Physiotherapist/Sports Therapist while Dylan Edwards continues as the Youth Representative.

The evening saw the biggest turn out for years for an AGM and an air of optimism prevalent that a new era is dawning at the club which promises much.

Gareth M Davies